Please, Login!
  • No items in the cart.
View Cart
Subtotal: $0.00


Yogyakarta is a city on the island of Java in Indonesia. It is renowned as a centre of education, classical Javanese fine art and culture such as batik, ballet, drama, music, poetry and puppet shows. It was the Indonesian capital during the Indonesian National Revolution from 1945 to 1949, with Gedung Agung as the president’s office. One of the districts in Yogyakarta, Kotagede, was the capital of the Mataram Sultanate between 1575 and 1640. The city is named after the Indian city of Ayodhya from the Ramayana epic. Yogya means “suitable, fit, proper”, and karta means “prosperous, flourishing”. Its population was 388,627 inhabitants at the 2010 census and its built-up  area was home to 4,010,436 inhabitants across two cities of Yogyakarta and Magelang and 65 districts across Sleman, Klaten, Bantul, Kulon Progo and Magelang regencies. Yogyakarta-Magelang and Surakarta are being agglomerated in several years. Because of its urbanisation and modernisation, this city has a very high HDI ranking nationally, being one of the highest in Indonesia as well; at 0.837, on which it could be considered as a “developed” city.
Scroll to top