Please, Login!
  • No items in the cart.
View Cart
Subtotal: $0.00

Khajuraho Monuments

The Khajuraho Group of Monuments in Madhya Pradesh, India is a UNESCO World Heritage Site located about 175 kilometres southeast of Jhansi. It’s a group of Hindu, Buddhist and Jain temples. These temples are famous for their nagara-style architectural symbolism and their beautiful sculptures, especially the erotic Kamasutra ones. The Kamasutra name is derived from the name of the Hindu God of Love, Kamadeva. The author of the Kamasutra book (read - Part 1, Part 2) Vatsyayana was a prominent Brahmin. The writings in the book contain about one thousand two hundred and fifty ‘Shlokas and Verses‘ and it’s divided into seven parts comprising thirty-six chapters. These writings date back to the first century of the Christian era.

Most of these temples were built between 950 and 1050 by the Chandela Rajput dynasty (king Yashovarman and Dhanga). The building activity throughout their kingdom started immediately after the rise of their power, later the kingdom is known as Bundelkhand. According to historical records the Khajuraho Group of Monuments site had 85 temples by the 12th century, spread over 20 square kilometres and today only about 25 temples survived, spread over 6 square kilometres. These temples were built together but were dedicated to two different religions that are Hinduism and Jainism. This suggests a tradition of acceptance and respect for diverse religious views among Hindus and Jains in the region.

The temples in Khajuraho Group of Monuments - Lakshmana, Vishvanatha, Kandaria Mahadev, Devi Jagadambi, Chitragupta, Yogini, Lalgun Mahadev, Brahma, Varaha, Parshvanatha, Ghantai, Mahishasuramardini, Matangeshwar, Vishnu-Garuda, Beejamandal Temple ruins, Ganesha, Adinath, Shantinatha, Vamana, Javeri, Chaturbhuja, Duladeo.

Scroll to top